30 C
Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Chamika and Chameera new addition to Abu Dhabi T-10

Must read

Seven Sri Lankan cricketers including two new players Chamika Karunaratne and Dushmantha Chameera have been picked to play in the Abu Dhabi T10 League 2022 which will be worked off from November 23 to December 4 at the Abu Dhabi International cricket Stadium, The player draft for the sixth season was conducted on Monday (26).

The franchises were allowed to retain former players and sign players ahead of the player draft, five other Sri Lankans, namely Wanindu Hasaranga, Dasun Shanaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Maheesh Theekshana and Matheesha Pathirana, had already been picked in the pre-draft direct-acquisition process. Altogether, seven Sri Lankans will feature in the sixth season, which will get underway in two months time.

However Two Sri Lankans paceman Dushmantha Chameera and all rounder Chamika Karunaratne, were picked by the Northern Warriors and Morrisville SAMP Army respectively.

The upcoming edition of the League will witness two new franchise teams from the United States of America joining the tournament. The two teams, namely New York Strikers and the Morrisville SAMP Army, will join the bandwagon making it an eight-team competition where they will battle out in a 10-overs per side games.

All eight teams will play each other once in the preliminary round and the top four teams will qualify for the play offs. Earlier three Sri Lankan players Kusal Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana and young paceman Dishan Madushanka have been picked to play South African league franchise cricket tournament. In the meantime Sri Lanka Cricket also planned to conduct third edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) cricket tournament next December after the T-20 World Cup. Sri Lanka players: Wanindu Hasaranga (Northern Warriors),Dasun Shanaka (Chennai Braves),Bhanuka Rajapaksa (Chennai Braves),Maheesh Theekshana (Chennai Braves), Matheesha Pathirana (Bangla Tigers),Chamika Karunaratne (Morrisville SAMP Army),Dushmantha Chameera (Northern Warriors)

More articles

Latest article