32 C
Monday, April 22, 2024

Eight Task Forces to attract investors

Must read

Secretary to the President Saman Ekanayake yesterday pointed out that it is a matter of regret that activities initiated by previous governments were not implemented when governments changed.

“We are suffering today from the consequences of not implementing such timely and necessary institutional reforms,” he said.

He was addressing members of eight Task Forces established on the instruction of President Ranil Wickremesinghe to create good investment opportunities and secure investors.

These Task Forces consisting heads of the public and private sectors was established at the President’s Office yesterday.

These Task Forces were empowered under the leadership of Secretary to the President Saman Ekanayake.

These Task Forces are enforced to cover all the procedures regulations and actions implemented by government agencies that provide services related to business activities based on 8 areas such as starting new businesses, obtaining construction permits, registering a business property, obtaining loans, protecting small-scale investors, cross-border trades, paying taxes, etc.

The heads of these Task Forces and 74 members representing all the government institutions related to this task participated, and encouraging them, Ekanayake said that this is another milestone in the government’s long-term efforts to create a favourable environment for investors.

Central Bank Governor Dr. Nandalal Weerasinghe, World Bank Sri Lanka Manager Chiyo Kanda, Secretary of the Ministry of Monetary, Economic Stabilization and National Policy K.M.M. Siriwardena, Sri Lanka Board of Investment Director General Renuka M.Weerakoon, Senior Presidential Adviser on Legal Affairs Bimba Thilakaratne, Senior Economic Adviser to the President Dr. Samaratunga, Presidential Adviser on Economic Reforms Dr. Sarath Rajapathirana and Vice President of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce Duminda Hulangamuwa were also present on this occasion.

More articles

Latest article