27.3 C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Eleven Member Committee to probe unruly incidents in House

Must read

The Committee headed by the Deputy Speaker Ranjith Siyambalapitiya includes Chamal Rajapaksa, Bandula Gunawardena, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Susil Premajayantha, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Gayantha Karunathilake, Rauf Hakeem, Ranjith Maddumabandara, Vijitha Herath and M.A.Sumanthiran, the Speaker announced.

Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena said the Committee was expected to look into the incidents that took place in and outside the Chamber on December 3 and 4 and recommend actions to be taken with regard to the incident and prevent similar incidents in the future.

Speaker Abeywardena also announced that all steps have been taken to ensure security of all parliamentarians.

“I am responsible for the safety of all Parliamentarians. I would like to request all MPs to follow the Standing Orders and behave well within and outside the Chamber to ensure the honour of this House. When making speeches, please refrain from being impulsive and make sure that personal insults are not thrown at each other,” the Speaker said.

The Speaker in conclusion insisted on the importance of solving the issues within the House without seeking the intervention of outside institutions. He also expressed his confidence in the appointed Committee to take sufficient steps to do justice to the MPs involved in the matter.

More articles

Latest article