28.6 C
Friday, May 24, 2024

Focus directed towards introducing a single licensing model for construction for all local government bodies

Must read

As it is inconvenient for people to issue permits under different forms when obtaining construction permits under different local government bodies, the Ministerial Consultative Committee on Urban Development & Housing focused on creating a single model that would be applicable to the whole country.

The above particulars were discussed at the meeting of the Ministerial Consultative Committee on Urban Development & Housing chaired by the State Minister Indika Anuruddha in Parliament on 24th. Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa is the Chairman of the Ministerial Consultative Committee pertaining to this Ministry.

Hon. Madhura Withanage, Member of Parliament, addressing the Ministerial Consultative Committee stated that when you go to several local government bodies, the permits issued for the construction of each local government body take different forms.

He also said that people who come to get the service are inconvenienced due to this. Therefore, the need to introduce a single standard model for Sri Lanka for this purpose was highlighted.

Accordingly, the State Minister Indika Anuruddha instructed the officials of the Ministry present, to pay attention to this matter and formulate an appropriate methodology as soon as possible.

They also discussed the irregularities and financial frauds committed by the officials in approving the planning activities and the need to take formal action in this regard. the need to introduce a place to forward complaints was also discussed in particular.

The difficulties faced by the people in obtaining approvals from several institutions for the construction of a single building were also discussed at this meeting. State Minister Nalaka Godahewa instructed the relevant officials to look into this matter and prepare a plan as soon as possible.

In addition, issues related to existing constructions in several areas and new construction requirements were also discussed at this Ministry Advisory Council.

Members of Parliament Madhura Withanage, Gunapala Rathnasekara, Wasantha Yapabandara, Chamara Sampath, Amarakeerthi Athukorala, Manjula Dissanayake, Sudath Manjula, Asanka Navaratne, Weerasumana Weerasinghe, Goonetileke Rajapaksa were present at the committee meeting held.

More articles

Latest article