31 C
Saturday, April 13, 2024

New stamp to celebrate First Postcard’s 150th year

Must read

A commemorative stamp to mark the 150th anniversary of the introduction of the postcard in Sri Lanka was held in the presence of Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena at Parliament yesterday (1).

Media Minister Bandula Gunawardana presented the first commemorative postcard to the Prime Minister. He also presented the commemorative postcard to several Parliamentarians including Chamal Rajapaksa, Muditha Soysa, Gayashan Nawanandana and Yadamini Gunawardena.

The Ordinance to provide for inland transmission of postcards was passed in 1871 and the first postcard was issued on September 1, 1872.

Media Ministry Secretary and ANCL Chairman Anusha Palpita and Postmaster General Ranjit Ariyaratne were also present.

More articles

Latest article