30 C
Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Party Leaders agree to 37 member National Council

Must read

Party Leaders agreed to establish the 37-member National Council at the Party Leaders’ meeting headed by the Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena yesterday (7).

The National Council will have representatives from all Parties in Parliament.

The National Council attempts to find solutions to the economic and social crisis in the country.

Accordingly, the Speaker will hold the Chair of the National Council and the Prime Minister, the Leader of the Opposition, the Leader of the House, and the Chief Organizer of the ruling party will become its members ex-officio.

The total number of members of the National Council is 37, including representatives who are ex-officio members and representatives of all political parties in Parliament.

The proposal pertaining to the establishment of the National Council will soon be presented to House.

More articles

Latest article