26.5 C
Tuesday, September 26, 2023

Sri Lanka will give a close run to India in ODI series

Must read

Sri Lanka cricketers are expected to put up a challenge at the first ODI of the three match series which is scheduled to be held today at Barsapara Cricket Stadium Guwahati, India, commence from 2pm onwards (Sri Lanka time).

After the three T-20 match series against India Sri Lanka who lost the series 1-2 was scheduled to get training yesterday evening at Guwahati Stadium while Indians also did their training session yesterday.

Indians has been strengthened with the return of their two senior players skipper Rohit Sharma and Virat Kholi and with the presence of these two players Indians have a strong batting line up to compete with Sri Lanka.

The crowd support and home advantage is an advantage for the Indians but Sri Lanka cannot be underestimated at this ODI series. Winning against India in India is not an easy task but our team is in good shape to battle with them said Sri Lanka Skipper Dasun Shanaka.

The positives of the last T-20 series is Sri Lanka batters both top order and middle order are in good form and they want to have a good bowling department during this ODI series. Sri Lanka most probably will include young spin all rounder Dunith Wellalage ine place of Maheesh Theekshana while they are looking to strengthen their fast bowling department by adding an extra paceman said senior member of the team management. Most probably Chamika Karunaratne or Lahiru Kumara who can bowl at more than 140kmh speed to strengthen the bowling

Meanwhile Sri Lanka is looking to get servies of two openers Pathum Nissanka and Avishka Fernando while wicket keeper Kusal Mendis will be number three batter followed by Dhananjaya de Silva and Charith Asalanka. We counldn’t finalise the playing eleven yet but it will be done after the final traning session after inspecting the wicket said a senior official of the team management .

Meanwhile India’s new-look side played outstandingly to win the T -20series 2-1 against Sri Lanka. But now the longer format of white ball cricket, the ODIs, will take the centre stage. And for this format, the big boys of Indian Cricket – Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Mohammad Shami, and KL Rahul – will return to the squad.

Hence, the skipper Rohit Sharma will have some huge selection problems for the 1st ODI given that players like Shreyas Iyer, Shubhman Gill, Surya Kumar Yadav, and Ishan Kishan will also challenge for the spots in the playing XI.

It is left to be seen Who will open with Rohit Sharma? In his most recent ODI encounter against Bangladesh, Kishan smashed the quickest double century, while Gill has appeared in 15 ODIs and is averaging above 55. The Gujarat Titans’ opener has taken advantage of his opportunities brilliantly while Rohit is out. It will ultimately be up to Rohit Sharma and coach Rahul Dravid to make a difficult decision.

The Number 4 position in Team India has very high stakes at the moment. The two of the best white-ball players for India in the recent past, Shreyas Iyer and Surya Kumar Yadav are eyeing for the No 4 spot ahead of the World Cup.

With Mohammed Siraj and Mohammad Shami, coming back into the team. Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel are the three spinners while two of them most probably will get a chance today.

The options will be many in front of Rohit Sharma for choosing his playing XI. However both sides are paced with more all rounders and keen tussle will be excepted today.

India ODI squad : Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, K.L Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (vice-capt), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh.

Sri Lanka ODI squad: Dasun Shanaka (capt), Nuwanidu Fernando, Avishka Fernando, Ashen Bandara, Pathum Nissanka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Charith Asalanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama (wk), Dilshan Madushanka, Pramod Madushan, Dunith Wellalage, Jeffrey Vandersay, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana

More articles

Latest article